Tags

, , , , , , ,

So my first observation about this pilgrim life, is about us; those who call themselves my fellow sojourners and followers of Jesus Christ.  

I listen to various radio broadcasts and podcasts that are decidedly Christian.  While I understand why radio/podcast jockeys, who are followers of Christ, would want to discuss the things of this world and possibly project the Good News of Jesus Christ via the media, many times I sense “worry”, “anxiousness”, “hype”, “fear”, and “shock” in these broadcasts, just as the “worldly” jockeys do!  I agree that there are many unusual and strange and disappointing events occurring here on this alien planet, but none of them are without explanation or ancient prophecies predicting them.  

So I remind you my fellow sojourners, “Do not be afraid.”  I found this specific phrase in our handbook (The Bible) 70 times.  I would encourage you all to consider what’s happening with a sense of distance and a sense of our King having everything under His control.  I recently heard Mark Hitchcock from http://www.raptureready.com say something like, “God the Father, and Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit are not having an emergency meeting up in Heaven, wringing their hands worrying about what they’re going to do about certain events here on Earth.”

I realize that we live amongst family members, friends and business associates who do not know our King and do not trust or understand the perspective we have as new creations in Christ and pilgrims in this world. Therefore shouldn’t we, with peace and joy reigning in our hearts, be helping them understand our Lord and Savior by assuring them that everything can and will be OK?  Shouldn’t we be telling them that If they would receive Him and trust Him and all His promises then “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control” (Galatians 5:22-23) would be their’s?  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not advocating the health and wealth gospel, but I am advocating something actually far better.  These godly promises are for those in the midst of suffering and tribulation and therefore makes them far batter than any health and wealth gospel could ever be.

Now here’s the rub fellow sojourners; before I can possibly do such a thing, I must recognize and receive and embrace these promises for my own life first.  If I have not received and understood these promises and attained this perspective in my own life, how will I ever be able to assure others that what I have received and become, is any better than what they already have.

So my intention in this blog is to be in this world but not of this world and report on situations I come across; all the while using God’s true Word to guide me thereby helping us shift our perspective away from mere earthbound perspectives and encourage a new earthbound/ heavenly perspective that is loving, encouraging and redeeming.  I pray that this will be encouraging to all my brothers and sisters in Christ and that together we will live and love as Jesus lives and loves through us in His Holy Spirit.

Grace and Peace in Him alone!

